The Scout Movement has a rich and exciting history which has led to it becoming today's leading global youth movement. The mission of Scouting is to contribute to the education of young people, through a value based system. Scout promises to help to build a better world where people are self-fulfilled as individuals and play a constructive role in the society.

SVS Scouts and Guides Group

Scouts and Guides movement was introduced in SVS on 3rd September 2002 The movement was formed with 32 highly spirited students under the guidance of Mr.Lourduraj and Mr. John Victor Currently SVS has 2 units of scout troops, 2 unit of guide companies and 1 Cub Pack and Bulbul Flock The Office Bearers & Adult Leaders (Academic Year 2011-2012).

Vice President Rev. Fr. Biju Elukunnel C.M.
Secretary Mr. C. Selvakumar – Scout Master Advanced
Joint Secretary Mrs. Rosemary Dixon – Cub Master-Advanced
Treasure Mrs. Anitha Abraham - Guide Captain Advanced
Guide Captain Mrs. K. Shalini Christianal - Guide Captain-Advanced
Flock Leader Mrs. Tanju Dass - Flock Leader-Basic
Assistant Guide Captain Mrs. D. Kumari - Guide Captain-Basic

There is one thought. I would like to impress upon you all – Once a Scout , Always a Scout”. Very few men are born brave, but any man can make himself brave if he tries- and especially if he begins trying when he is a boy. - Baden Powell.

The inaugural function for this academic year was held on 30th June 2011. Thiru. P. Madasamy DSP was the guest of honour. Our Guide Captain Mrs. D. Kumari renewed the Guide promise.

SVS has produced 30 Rajyapuraskar Scouts , 27 Rajyapuraskar Guides , a Rastrapathi Scout , 25 Chaturtha Charan Cubs and 15 Heerak pankh Bulbuls till date.

A hike to Vivekananda Illam was organized by our Scout Master C. Selvakumar our Guide Captain C. Muthulakshmi .The Scouts & Guides served for the Tritiya Sopan Badge and participated in the same.

Rajyapuraskar Awards – 2010, test camp was held from 25th to 28th August at Dr. M.G.R. State Training Centre, Alathur, Kanchipuram District. The Scouts Aashiq Ahamad, B. Ajay Aashiq, SKE. Thannarajan, M. Sanjay Srinivasan, G. Niksamson , P.N. Chetan, the Guides A. Masha, S. Priyanka, M. Indhuja Priya, Nancy Elvice Francis, R. Dhanapriya and A. Sumithra attended the same and awaiting the results.

“Vinceboree 2010”, the annual training camp was held from 30th August to 1st September 2010 at Dr. M.G.R. State Training Centre, Alathur, Kanchipuram District. Around 50 Scouts & Guides those who were serving for Dwitiya and Tritiya Sopan badges attended the camp. Our patron Rev. Fr. Johny visited the camp site and encouraged the trainers and the trainees.

8 Scouts , 2 Guides are serving for Rajyapuraskar Awards 2011. 5 Scouts and 2 Guides are serving for Rastrapathy Awards 2011. 5 Cubs and a Bulbul are serving for Chaturtha Charan and Heerak pankh respectiveliy.

Plan for the Academic Year 2011-2012

1. To recruit more number of students for the movement
2. To organize Vinceboree 2011, annual training camp in the month of August.
3. To conduct Special training to the Rajyapuraskar and Rastrapathy Scouts & Guides.
4. To conduct monthly programmes like week end camps, trekking and hiking
5. To conduct Patrol Expedition in the month of January 2012. 

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2010

Aashiq Ahamad A. Masha
B. Ajay Aashiq S. Priyanka
S.K.E.Thannarajan M.Indhuja Priya
M.Sanjay srinivasan Nancy Elvis Francis
G.Nikasamson S.Sumithra
P.N.Chethan R.Dhana Priya

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2009

S.Dhinesh Kumar M. Sumaiya
S. Vimal Kumar R. Keerthana
     - M.Akila
     - K.Revathy
     - A.Sangeetha
     - A.Nageshwari
     - A.Soundarya
     - S.Nithya

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2008

A.Rakesh John A.Malar 
S. Sachin George R. Krithika
M.Gopinath Jubeida Aafteen
G.Sandeep Slesh Joy
J.Antony Maria George K.Lavanya
C.Sooriyan    -
J.Kingsly Devasagayam
J. Micheal Antony Raj    -
S. Dilip Hensen    -
V.Aravindhan    -
S. Syed Ibrahim    -
P. Abhilash    -

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2007

B. Babin Herbert    -
A. Jofun    -
Antonin A Weisman    -

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2006

Anish .K Varsha .D
Jesin Prabhu .G Sharanya .S
Palayam Mohammed Yoonus Shalini Augusta

Recipients of The Rajya Puraskar Awards – 2005

Subhash Nithya Juliet N
   - Chitra Lakshmi K